Investment Questions? Join our Forum
Its free and takes less than 1 minute to sign up!

Investment Forum - NGL.LN Share certificates.

square button
Investment Forum » Ask our Expert » NGL.LN Share certificates.

Started by ianjohn Nov 16 2009, 10:04
ianjohn
Posts: 3
Nov 16 2009, 10:04
I purchased 40,000 shares in Norseman Gold via Guardian Partners LLC (Atlanta)and have received confirmations of payment received dated 14/7/09 and
27/08/09. I have not yet received any issuing certificates despite a statement on the receipt that this can take up to 6 weeks. Several Emails to Guardian Partner have met with no response.
Where do I go from here?.



raysor
Moderator
starstarstar
Posts: 186
Nov 16 2009, 10:51
My first thought is WHY? Norseman Gold is obviously genuine, an Australian Gold mining company incorporated in England, quoted in London on AIM.
But what about Guardian Partners LLC? A quick look at their website doesn't impress and, in fact, rings alarm bells. What do they actually do? By whom are they authorised? Were you cold called? As I always say treat these as a scam until you can prove otherwise.
Where & to whom did you pay the money? Did you receive a contract note? I would contact the Fraud Squad although I am not sure whether it will do you any good personally. I am afraid to say you probably have a slim, if any, chance of seeing your money or any stock.
Guardian are on the FSA list of unauthorised firms operating in the UK.
http://www.fsa.gov.uk/pages/Doing/Regulated/Law/Alerts/overseas.shtml

Last edit: raysor Nov 16 2009, 10:53


ianjohn
Posts: 3
Nov 16 2009, 11:41
Contract notes were received from Guardian Partners
headed"Authorised Share Offer Agreement for and on behalf of NORSEMAN GOLD PLC (NGL.LN) Funds were paid to Guardian Partners LLC bank account in Nevada. and
I received confirmations of payment received.



raysor
Moderator
starstarstar
Posts: 186
Nov 16 2009, 12:16
This is what I would do: According to your last post the contract notes are headed 'Authorised share offer agreement for & on behalf of Norseman....' therefore I would 'phone Norseman or maybe their brokers and enquire as to whether they have authorised anything. Company's website is http://www.norsemangold.com/ where you will find various contact details.



ianjohn
Posts: 3
Nov 22 2009, 18:15
Did that and Norseman Gold had no knowledge of any authorisation and I am not listed on their register.
It would appear that this is a variation of the usual "cold call" scam.i.e "selling" shares in a reputable company and pocketing the proceeds.
I have now sent a complaint to the USA Securities and
Exchange Commission and the FSA. I have also Emailed the relevant receiving banks.  It will be interesting to see the response if any.



raysor
Moderator
starstarstar
Posts: 186
Nov 22 2009, 20:19
I hope you get somewhere. Let us know if any progress.





Please login to Reply